I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE(2010)

I Spit On Your Grave was a movie to reckon with in the early seventies and I had heard a lot about it but never actually had the urge to see it, simply owing to the fact that I detest torture on women in any form and simply the thought of it makes me feel sick. I cant even tolerate the of screen violence on women let alone on screen. So when I got the opportunity to see this slasher flick I was apprehensive to say the least but with the kind of word of mouth that it generated I was hooked. My friends also told me that it was a feel good slasher entertainer. So I finally mustered up the courage to see it.

The movie tells the story of a novelist Angellica Hill, who travels to a secluded farmhouse in the pursuit of some silence from the city life to start work on her new book but in turns becomes victim of a group of Hooligans. The story is then that of how Angellica Gets her revenge on the wrong doers who had subjected her to monstrous atrocities.

Once the basic premise is set the movie takes the path of that of any other revenge flick. There is no cinematic brilliance or great amount of character drama to look out for.Its a simple enough revenge flick and it doesn’t try to be anything more than that.There in lies its greatest plus point. Its an out an out entertainer and the way Hill goes out to avenge her wrong doers is nice to look at. Lovers of the slasher genre will have certain complaints about the lack of blood and gore but let me tell you what this movie lacks in blood and gore makes up for in exploitation. It would be a better bet to call this an exploitation flick instead of calling it slasher flick.

I don’t want to give away any of the moments but cant let go without mentioning about a scene where a sheriff is violated by a shotgun. It was one for the records. Final words, if you are looking for some escapist entertainment and don’t mind seeing people tortured, go for it. You might enjoy it.

COMMENT

